Etiquetas

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Welcome once again to my blog, I’ve just finished to watch, one of the best romantic stories in my entire life.

This time I’m bringing you a movie that may not be one of your favorites, cuz it’s a period movie and this kind doesn’t like to so many people, but I must confess I’m a fan of period movies. Well, the first time I saw this trailer was around mid’ last year and I love it, since then I was looking for it and ‘till a few days ago, I found it.

The story turns around a girl Frances ‘Fanny’ Brawne (Abbie Cornish), she’s independent, is creative (she design her own clothes), she’s a lil’ cold and she has a mindset really advanced for her time. Him, John Keats (Ben Whishaw) he’s a poet (which I must admit I haven’t read him, but now I will), was like the most of poets… poor, he didn’t had a dime to his name. Well, then he fell in love with her and so she does, but there are things that prevent them to be together and here is where I start to cry.

At the beginning of the movie, everything flows and starts to hook you up with the looks and the words that they gave to each other; suddenly they realize that they’re in love, the things go really good and then really bad for them; ‘cuz Fanny loves him so much and she said she would do anything for him, but John couldn’t do anything for her ‘cuz he didn’t had any money. The plot its pretty intense and there’s poetry everywhere, so if you blink you might lose some rhyme and end up not understanding a thing.

The script was awesome; it seems fantastic for me the way the scriptwriter Jane Campion (who’s also the director) put the verses of Keats inside the dialogues,  this are so fluid and honest that really move your feelings; the costume and the photography were, OMG!!! STUNNING!!! the landscapes are heartbreaking cuz they’re so beautiful and are place in a very synchronized way, almost like a symphony; they carry you hand in hand and allowed you to, get into the love story even more.

The performances by the main characters are immaculate, wasn’t the first time I saw Abbie Cornish (I’ve already saw her on the cover of Vanity Fair Feb/10) but was the first time I saw her perform and to me she was magnificent, every emotion, every look, the move of her hands, was wow, so well performed. For other side Ben Whishaw was the very first time I’ve saw him and was awesome. The direction was very nice, the frames that were used were very certain, I love it.

SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT

THE NEXT PARAGRAPH IT’S FULL OF SPOILER JUMP IT IF YOU’RE ALLERGIC TO IT

In general the movie was splendid from beginning to end, but I have to highlight some scenes. First, when John K. give to Fanny the no-engagement ring but she wear it as if it was it; second, when they have to say goodbye forever cuz he goes to Italy to never comeback, they’re laid down in a bed, full dressed, touching only their faces (OMG I just died in that scene, well not literally but I cried a lot); third, when they’re in the studio seated on a couch, holding hands and he rattle off several verses to Fanny (wow was so romantic) and to finish at the very end of the movie when she found out he had died and how she walk alone in the dark reading out loud he’s books.

END SPOILER END SPOILER END SPOLER END SPOLER END SPOLER END SPOLER

As a final note (I’m about to finish) stay until the credits roll, I watch them completely, I couldn’t lose that last one detail the director was giving us, it make you drop more tears, but are worth it. This is one of those few films that after having seen it, still cause you feelings about the characters and the best of it (in my opinion, that is like the cherry at the top of the cake), it is that all was true. There’s a documentary where they say it, basically the script was written, based on the letters they wrote to each other, so everything was 100% true.

Ok, gotta go, thanks for reading me, I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did, you can follow me on twitter. Leave a comment.

The official web page is Bright Star and here’s another link to watch trailers en iTunes.

C’ya
Lorelay