Etiquetas

, , , ,

Zombies + Humans + Post-Apocalyptic World = Love Story. As unbelievable as it sounds, this is the only way I can summary this book. With just 256 brief pages, Warm Bodies starts as a book that I surely didn’t wanted to read, but after its first pages, R got me, making me want to know more about his life, his world and his mind.

I began to read it by mistake; several months ago I download a little advanced gif pages on the internet (Summit recommend it via twitter, if I don’t recall it wrong, though probably I surely don’t remember right), when I found it was about Zombies, I denial myself want to read it, but once my giveaway pages were over, I had to get the full version, because I wanted to know what else happened with that odd character.

As the pages go by and the story developed itself, I almost forgot that was a zombie the one telling his life story, or better said his “not-complete-death” is complicated to define his status, though is not complicated to get attach to this factional personality. On several scenes made laugh, some made me feel disgust, but there are also tender moments, full of sentimentalisms that made me wanna cry.

By the moment when Julie comes to view, I didn’t know what to think about R, was he actually a zombie? Or was an alien?, It was crystal clear he was not a Boney! But sure thing he wasn’t human either; so the doubt, desperation and anxiety to know what else happen, keep you on reading paragraph after paragraph of this story full of amazement, fears and little victories for R, in the middle of a world devastated and almost inexistent, with tiny remains of the left surviving humanity but that despite everything is yet still alive.

Warm Bodies is a very different than any other post-apocalyptical fiction book, that I’ve ever read, the narrative is in FPOV (first person point of view), the first 40 pages are very confused, full of meaningless zombie stuff, but since Julie arrives everything becomes very, very interesting; the end, seems incomplete to me, I would like more that the author deepened a little more in the “how” things get to “work out right”, is a confusing but convincing and appropriated end, though didn’t seemed to leave a lead to a second volume.

Nice book, nice story, but I can’t recommend to everyone, is pretty weird.

C’ya
Lorelay

PS Nicholas Hoult and Teresa Palmer, were cast for play R and Julie, AFAIK.