Etiquetas

, , , , , , ,

Since the beginning of the year, a good co-worker of mine, which is a regular reader of youth novels; She recommended me the trilogy Ruby, but after give it a small look at the cover, I felt that was not for me, and months later I come to realize that I was missing a lot!

Gwyneth Shepherd’s sophisticated, beautiful cousin Charlotte has been prepared her entire life for traveling through time. But unexpectedly, it is Gwyneth, who in the middle of class takes a sudden spin to a different era! Gwyneth must now unearth the mystery of why her mother would lie about her birth date to ward off suspicion about her ability, brush up on her history, and work with Gideon, the time traveler from a similarly gifted family that passes the gene through its male line, and whose presence becomes, in time, less insufferable and more essential. Together, Gwyneth and Gideon journey through time to discover who, in the 18th century and in contemporary London, they can trust.

It caught me the idea about time travel, I really liked the plot, thought it was a story, very bland, but ended up being quite tangled, taking me to the edge so the bed, the chair, the seat on the bus, the bus stop, the chair at work, etc … I couldn’t stop to read it, and is so really intricated, just the way I like it XP

I have never imagined it would be so so so!! Incredible!! Truly one of the best books I’ve read in a long while, apart from my other favorite sagas XD the trilogy -which I wanted it to be 6 books saga- is very complete, full of twists on each chapter, and leaving you hanging at the end of each line.

The romance -that’s what I like most in a book- in «Ruby Red» is really sweet, innocent, complicated, exasperating, delirious, but mostly AMAZING, even so the action, intrigue, secrets and distress, that play an important role in the plot of the story, with many jumps to the past, with so many friends who seem enemies, you never know who to trust.

Now about the characters, I must say that Gideon -Puff- made me doubt a bit that he was really the handsome of the «movie» and even at the end of Ruby, Gideon left me wanting to shake him, and making him react like a man once and for all, then during many scenes I thought it was just one more puppet of that secret society, but also with each paragraph that advanced, left me confused and then I didn’t know what to think of him.

As for Gwyneth Shepherd aka Gwyn or Gwynie, I really like her from the beginning, is funny, dramatic, naive, a bit insecure but determined, above all is a nice and sweet girl of 16 years, that can’t believe in what disaster has been involved. Something that I identify with her, was her passion for movies, I think that all those movies that are mentioned in the three books, I have already seen them, besides her passion for books, Jane Austen couldn’t be missed, as well as her best friend Leslie, she reminded me of my own BFF.

Besides the secondary characters aren’t bad all, Leslie is really fun and super similar in personalities with my BFF for that reason I loved to read her, obviously the bad one in the book is cousin of Gwen, Charlotte, she is a pain in the ass, I really hate her and made ​​me want to pull her hair to drag her across my street -Which by the way look terrible-; Mr. George was funny, and for me especially Lucas was a lovely person, loved him!

The book is written so fluently, with such beautiful details such as descriptions of vintage dresses, which fascinates me in general, since my favorite movies are period movies, as well for the books XD also is full of funny lines, situations so much of teenagers that make you have tons of fun,  interesting emotions, crazy ideas about conspiracies, a little romance, a little bit of hate, anger and unhappy all at the same time. I honestly love that was in first person, it had been a while since I does not read a first person book, so well developed.

Ruby Red, Ruby and the entire trilogy is a MUST READ for this 2012, I’m dying to read it in English, the three volumes, since I only read the first one in English =D and the other two in Spanish =( -My birthday is very near, if you want to let me get it XD- with no more, I say you cannot miss this in your personal library.

Cya
Lorelay

PS Thanks to  @Aszhmiick  for the translation XOXO